Picture
What Most Excites You About This Production?

It is thrilling to be a part of bringing this production before
an audience for the first time. I think what is most exciting is the intensity of the play, and having the opportunity to work with such talented people.


What Is The Greatest Challenge You Face With This Role?

Joseph is a wild ride. It is one of the heavier roles I have had
the opportunity to play. He is a truly tragic character and at times, quite terrifying. The greatest challenge is to let go. Let him breath. Open the tap and get out of the way…


Picture
What Kind of Research Are You Doing to Prepare?

Beyond researching the references in the text, I did some work
with a physical therapist to understand how recovering from a fractured hip and walking with a cane would be. The majority of Joseph is internal though so, I actually found myself reading and listening to a lot of Leonard Cohen. This older weathered composer singing about love seemed to resonate with Joseph’s
character.

 “Maybe there's a God above, And all I ever learned from love,
Was how to shoot at someone who outdrew you;…
Hallelujah”



Picture
What Have Been Some of Your Favorite Previous Roles?

My favorite role previous to this would be Charlie in The Foreigner (telling a story in gibberish for an entire scene is too much fun). After that would be George in Moon Over Buffalo, and playing myself at the end of Accomplice.


Picture
Since This Play Is About Unearthing Secrets – What Secret About Yourself Would You be Willing to Share?

Secrets? I have no secrets… really,… really,… er,… yeah…

What Do You Hope Audiences Take From This Production

I hope they find the play new, different, and bold. For Joseph, it is a tragedy. I hope the audience takes away a renewed appreciation for what they have, the importance of their relationships, and the fragility of this life.






Leave a Reply.