Picture
Stage Manager Cate Foster

What Most Excites You About This Production?

That’s a hard one to answer, as there are so many aspects about this show that excite me. However, the two facets that stand out most are getting to work with the people in this cast and crew, and getting to see the words of a new play come alive on stage, knowing it’s never happened before.This is something special.

Picture

What Is The Greatest Challenge You Face As Part of the Production Team?
My biggest challenge is finding a babysitter for my 4-year-old son so that I can be present during the intense rehearsal schedule. Luckily, I have a talented and capable Assistant Stage Manager, which makes things much easier.

What Kind of Research Are You Doing to Prepare?


Being a stage manager doesn’t require a lot of research, per se. However, as stage
manager you are expected to fill in where needed. So I have found myself looking up various tidbits of information such as the number one hits from 1961, and when felt tip and ball point pens were invented.


What Have Been Some of Your Favorite Previous Productions You Have Stage Managed?

The Mystery of Irma Vep with Denver Civic Theatre and The Tempest with GreenStage are definite favorites although for very different reasons. However, Comedy of Errors at the Bug Theatre will always hold a special place in my heart since it was the last show I did in Denver.

Since This Play Is About Unearthing Secrets – What Secret About Yourself Would You be Willing to Share?


I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 2001.

What Do You Hope Audiences Take From This Production?

Being self-aware and understanding the effect our supposedly hidden selves can have on others is so important. But I also want our audiences to simply have a good time and enjoy a night out at the theatre, and to continue supporting local art.

Picture
Assistant Stage Manager Tamara Clark
What Most Excites You About This Production?
I am really excited that this is a new work.  This is the first time I have worked on a new piece before.  It is a fun experience to work on something that hasn't been produced before.

What Is The Greatest Challenge You Face As Part of the Production Team?
I think for me the greatest challenge is being connected to the  production.  Since I am the assistant stage manager I'm not required to be at all rehearsals so when I am at one I feel like I'm playing catch up.

What Kind of Research Are You Doing to Prepare?
I've been researching a lot of the terms that I'm unfamiliar with as well as the early 60's in general.  

What Have Been Some of Your Favorite Previous Productions You Have Stage Managed?
My favorite production that I was stage manager for was a production of A Midsummer Night's Dream.  It had so many technical elements that I really had to stay on my toes in the booth.  I also really enjoyed being the assistant director for Children of a Lesser God. 

Since This Play Is About Unearthing Secrets – What Secret About Yourself Would You be Willing to Share?
I struggle daily with severe clinical depression.

What Do You Hope Audiences Take From This Production?
I hope that the audience is able to understand the underlying tone that I resonate the most with this show.  Everyone has layers of secrets.  Unearthing each layer is like discovering a new part of a person.  Maybe the audience will go home and strip away another layer of what they hide underneath.




Leave a Reply.