Picture

 What Most Excites You About This Production?

Having the opportunity to debut new work is both brilliant and terrifying. It’s freeing because the vision for the play can go into any direction and it allows you to chip away at the piece until it’s what you want.

The terrifying aspect is that all of those decisions and choices are on you in the end. Though, it’s the good kind of terrifying that makes you excited to get out of bed and go to the theater to get to work.


What Is The Greatest Challenge You Face With
This Role?


As far as challenges go, I’m most excited about aging from a 23 year old college student to a 69 year old college professor in the same scene. I feel as though it’s something that is exciting and it reminds the audience of that they’re in live theater and, even there, anything can happen.

Picture
 What Kind of Research Are You Doing to Prepare?

I’ve been going through a lot of old photographs of the period, from the University of Washington libraries to migrant workers in Eastern Washington. Reading a great deal of Ovid, as well.

What Have Been Some of Your Favorite Previous Roles?

Some of my favorite roles so far have been Charles / William from As You Like It at Seattle Shakespeare Company, Bernard in The Waves (directed by Sheila Daniels) and Jefe in El Paso Blue (directed by Aimée Bruneau) at Cornish College of the Arts.

Picture

Since This Play Is About Unearthing Secrets – What Secret About Yourself Would You be Willing to Share?

 I cannot swim. I hope that you don’t use that against me.

 What Do You Hope Audiences Take From This Production?

The correct pronunciation of Ovid.

But seriously, a sense of what any one of us leaves behind. The fact that we leave things behind and those things can be all that are left of us when we’re no longer around. It makes me wonder what people will think of me, and who I was, when I’m not around to explain anymore and all they’re left with are the details.






Leave a Reply.